Board of Directors

The Foundation is managed by a Board of Directors, all of whom are residents of the community.

2020-2021 Board Members

Susan W. Rollinson, Ph.D., President
Kelly Dean Madsen, Secretary-Treasurer
Janie D. Barnette
Brandon S. Caldwell
David E. Crandall, D.O.
James R. Eller
Jack A Hammond II
Teresa B. Johnson
Lisa H. Schoppmeyer
R. Meade Snyder

Directors Emeriti

Michele K. Ballou, M.D.
Harrison L. Fridley
Jack A. Hammond
Charles W. Kahle
George J. Kostel
Leo T. Mulcahy
George C. Snead, Jr.
James D. Snyder
Lynda N. Thompson
Anne L. Wright


Mary Fant Donnan

Executive Director

Mary Fant Donnan


With a background in community economic development, philanthropy, and education, Mary Fant Donnan became the Executive Director of The Alleghany Foundation in 2011. Mary holds a Bachelor of Arts in Music from Davidson College and a Masters degree in Environmental Studies from the University of Adelaide in South Australia. She and her husband, Bob, a sports photographer based in the Alleghany Highlands, have three children whose school, sports, and musical activities keep them hopping. While family time certainly comes first, Mary admits to looking for opportunities to indulge in her own gardening or cooking pursuits whenever she can.

Financial Administrator

Catherine Leonard


Administrative Secretary

Melenie Riley